The American Institute of Architects

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects


Design Excellence Awards

hosted by AIA Oklahoma

Call for Entries


The Central States Excellence Awards showcase the best of built work by AIA members in the Central States area (Oklahoma, Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas and Missouri). Entrants must be members of The American Institute of Architects in these states. Award winners will be announced during the AIA Design Excellence Awards Dinner on Friday, September 15th at the First National Center in downtown Oklahoma City.


  • Eligible projects must be designed by an AIA member of AIA Oklahoma, AIA Iowa, AIA Nebraska, AIA Kansas, or AIA Missouri and can be built anywhere in the world.  Additionally, projects designed by AIA members outside of the Central States listed above, may be entered if they were built within the Central States (Oklahoma, Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, or Missouri).
  • An individual submitting an entry must have designed the project or been a member of the project team who executed the project.
  • An entry executed by a Joint Venture shall be eligible if any member the Joint Venture is an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Oklahoma, AIA Iowa, AIA Nebraska, AIA Kansas, or AIA Missouri Only projects completed after January 1, 2017 are eligible.
  • Previously honored projects in other AIA state or regional, or national awards are eligible but projects previously honored in an Central States Awards are not eligible.


Entry Categories

Large Commercial Architecture (above 25,000 sf)

Any new build or addition / renovation commercial project above 25,000 sf

Commercial Architecture

Any new build or addition / renovation commercial project below 25,000 sf

Residential Architecture

Single family residential projects

Interior Architecture

Projects focusing on interior architecture

Adaptive Reuse

The renovation and reuse of an existing structure for new purposes

Small Project

Small project construction, object, work of environmental art or architectural design under 5,000 square feet.

Excellence in Craft

Any building detail or special feature on a project. This category is intended to highlight a specific part of a project, not an entire building


A jury of professionals in architecture will evaluate the submissions. The selection method and number of awards shall be at the discretion of the jury.


Submission Requirements

The Central States Awards uses a paperless, digital submission entry.

All entries must include:

  1. A pdf presentation derived from a template provided by AIA Oklahoma that includes up to 10 slides to be designed as the entrant sees fit. (Not to exceed 15MB).
  2. Up to 5 high resolution project images, a selection of which may be used during the Awards Ceremony and / or for publication and publicity.
  3. One PowerPoint slide (16:9 format) to be used during the reception and dinner, showcasing all of the award entries.
  4. Completed Project Identification Form

Submission details will be sent to entrants on or before June 16, 2023.


Honor Award

The Honor Award is AIA’s highest level of award. It acknowledges a project with distinctive character and outstanding merit.

Merit Award

The Merit award recognizes projects that clearly demonstrate a level of design that exemplifies superior achievements.

Citation Award

The Citation Award is awarded to projects of notable accomplishment and excellent design qualities.


Awards Presentation

The AIA Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards Dinner will take place on Friday, September 15, 2023 at the First National Center in downtown Oklahoma City. Cost to attend the awards dinner is separate from the registration fee for entering the Design Excellence Awards competition.


Fees & Deadlines

A non-refundable registration fee of $175 is required for each entry into the AIA Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards. 

Your entry form and fee must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 14, 2023. 

Detailed Submission Requirements will be sent to entrants on June 16, 2023. 

Final submissions will be due no later than 11:59 p.m. July 14, 2023.

Questions regarding the Central States Awards Program should be submitted in writing to or